A Valentine’s Day at the Beach

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner, and it made me “travel” back to that one special Valentine’s Day that X and I had a few years ago. I didn’t mean to reminisce about the past, I just thought that it’s still a proper travel post 🙂

Nha Trang Beach

We celebrated Valentine’s Day at the beach in Nha Trang, Vietnam. Well, it was not included in the original itinerary. We were supposed to travel to Hanoi after exploring Ho Chi Minh for a few days but we were not able to book a flight to Hanoi. We tried to book this flight prior to arrival in Ho Chi Minh but there was no luck at all.  All flights were fully booked due to New Year’s Day celebration. The best alternative presented to us by the travel agent was to travel Nha Trang first since there was an available flight from Nha Trang to Hanoi. So we took that option and booked the Nha Trang-Hanoi-Cho Chi Minh flight.

The overnight bus trip from Ho Chi Minh to Nha Trang was a real nightmare. I was really surprised to find out that the bus tickets didn’t have seat numbers on them, so it means free-seating. We waited for over an hour outside the travel agency’s office that also serves as the bus terminal. Getting on the bus was a real struggle, people were pushing each other from the back, left and right. I felt like my whole body was crashed into pieces before I was able to get to my seat. If I still remember it right, it was a 10-hour trip. Ten agonising hours on that bus. We had a few stops along the way and I still remember that one toilet where shoes are not allowed inside. At first I was really hesitant to take my shoes off, my first reaction when I saw those rubber slippers at the door was ….. yuuccckkkk. I wasn’t sure if those slippers ever get washed and sanitized regularly. I mean how many people have actually worn those slippers? But I had no other logical option, I had to wear those yucky slippers as my bladder couldn’t hold it any longer.

It was nearly seven in the morning when we arrived at the city. I was feeling really exhausted that morning as I was awake almost all night. To my surprise, there were no taxi cabs around so we had to take a motorbike. I’ve never been on a motorbike before that day,  I was really scared but I really had to if I wanted to get to our hotel.  I was supposed to sit at the back like I was sitting on a bench but the driver insisted that I should do it properly. That short motorbike ride was still a nightmare.. my driver was really smelly!

We stayed in a beach front hotel and there was a stunning view of the beach from our balcony.

Nha Trang Beach

After getting some needed rest, we headed to a popular place called The Sailing Club. The place was very relaxing and ideal for just sitting  around watching the calmness of the sea while having a nice cup of cappuccino.

Sailing Club
This place was quiet during day time but really busy and crowded during and after dinner time. The bar area was full of male tourists and travellers partying with local girls. The restaurant at the back had a garden setting. It was kind of romantic, just get ready to be bitten by mosquitoes. There were mosquito coils placed under each table but I guess those mosquitoes in Vietnam were already immune to mosquito coils and mosquito repellant.
Sailing Club

We sat on one of those beach chairs after having dinner as we couldn’t take the noise and the crowd at the bar.  After just a few minutes; my feet got really itchy so we decided to leave and head back to our hotel. I got kind of shocked when I saw my feet and arms, there were red spots all over. Our mosquito repellant simply didn’t work. ~N~

4 thoughts on “A Valentine’s Day at the Beach”

Leave a Reply

