Camp Phillips: Del Monte Pineapple Plantation

It was during this trip to the southern part of the country when I realized that I want to travel and see as much places as possible in and out of the country.       

It was only a one week trip but we got to see a lot, including the Del Monte pineapple plantation in the province of Bukidnon in the Philippines.  I explicitly included it in our itinerary as I really wanted to see the famous plantation, it’s also a popular tourist destination in the region. It was more or less an hour uphill drive from Cagayan de Oro City but I almost didn’t feel it was that long as I was enjoying the scenery while we were traveling up to the mountains. We were greeted by a huge pineapple figure that serves as a landmark and a favorite spot for taking photos. Yes, I do have my own “pineapple photo” but I don’t know where it is now. Maybe I didn’t like how I looked in that photo that’s why I didn’t bother keeping it. 🙂       

Camp Phillips

 

We wandered around the area before we headed to the plantation proper. Employees of Del Monte literally live within the camp, in almost identical houses. Unfortunately I wasnt able to take that much photos as there were certain areas where taking photos was not allowed. If my memory serves me right, there was one person in our group who has a friend working for Del Monte and actually lives within the camp and we were invited to stay in his house and we were  served dozens of fresh pineapples.  I’m not into pineapples; whether fresh or canned, but I tried to eat one slice and it tasted really sweet.  I don’t know why, but I just don’t like pineapples.      

      

The plantation was hectares upon hectares of pineapples and it looked like a sea of pineapples so we only went to the area that was close to house that we were staying for lunch. It was literally pineapples everywhere I looked.  Unfortunately, we missed the harvest time but there were young fruits  left and waiting to be photographed.      

      

  Visitors can have pineapples as much as the stomach can hold but not allowed to take them home.

6 thoughts on “Camp Phillips: Del Monte Pineapple Plantation”

  1. So fun to see these pictures. We used to visit the plantation often when I was younger. I lived in Malaybalay, Bukidnon for a number of years. Thanks for posting these! Made me homesick.

Leave a Reply

