Traveling and Photography

Travelling and photography sound like a prefect combination to me. I’m not a photographer but I love taking photos of anything and everything around me especially when I’m travelling.

Hanoi, Vietnam

The photo below caught my attention while we were walking around Old Quarter area. My first comment was like.. that building looks like a church, then I saw the name of building…. Church Hotel.

Church Hotel

Bandar Seri Begawan

One of the main attractions in BSB is the  Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin Mosque, an example of modern Islamic architecture.  Apart from it’s picturesque location, it has a golden dome that is still clearly visible from kilometers away. The marbles used on the mosque’s walls were imported from Italy, carpets were imported from Saudi Arabia, chandeliers from England  and granite from Shanghai. It has an elevator and tunnel too.

This was my first actual mosque experience. I was aware that everyone has to take their shoes off before entering the mosque, what I didn’t know was that tourists were also required to wear  that black overgarment, not sure if it was a burqa or abaya. When the man handed it to me, I thought … how many people have actually worn it and  how often do they wash this thing?  I just ignored the thoughts and put it on instead. My arms were feeling a little itchy after a few seconds but I wasnt sure if it was just psychological lol

The Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin Mosque
Leave a Reply

