For the Love of Greens

One evening, when my friends and I were dining out, I saw a bowl of nice greens at the table next to ours so we asked the server what it was. I think she saw the curiousness in our face while she was enumerating the ingredients of that beautiful green salad. So as expected, we ordered the same thing. Since that night, I always look for arugula salad on the menu every time i eat out. So far, there were arugula with mushroom and lots of cheese, arugula with just green apple and nuts, arugula with romaine lettuce, etc. etc.

After having yet another version of arugula salad last night at an Italian restaurant, I decided that I would make my own personalized version. After dinner, we headed to the supermarket for my arugula quest. I didn’t find it at the first place we went to but I didn’t stop and headed to the next place where I can probably find what I was looking for. And yes, I found several bunches of organic arugula. Oh, please don’t ask me what particular variety it is… I’m perfectly sure I can’t answer that question right now.

a1

Organically grown vegetables tend to have veggie worms so we should take extra effort in washing the leaves.

a2

The beauty of preparing your own meal is that you get to customize it, add a little bit of everything here and there.

a3

Preparing this beautiful and sumptuous plate is really easy.

a4

So that was my lazy Sunday lunch. If you know what specific arugula specie it is, please let me know :)

These are the ingredients I used…

Organic Arugula
Extra virgin olive oil
Balsamic vinegar
Purple juice
Dried cranberries
Walnut

I didn’t include the specific measurements as these are based on your preferences. To give you a bit of an idea, the ratio I used for olive oil, balsamic vinegar and purple juice …. 2:1:2. Just be easy on the dressing and don’t pour it all at once.

2 responses to “For the Love of Greens

Leave a Reply

